Ever deleted your photos by mistake?


posted on 16th of march, 2010


Did you ever deleted your images from your memory-card before uploading them to your computer? I made this huge mistake last weekend as my mind was all over the place.

The images lost were from a shoot done that afternoon. I was extremely frustrated when I came to realize that this happened to me. I was already thinking about a re-shoot and how to confront my model with the bad news.

After cooling down from my stress, I came to realize that there might be hope......
I remembered that in the booklet of my CompactFlash card they allow me to download their data recovery software: MediaRecovery. I thought I could give that a try.

© Kgtoh (Help)

I downloaded the program, installed it, and amazingly enough I was able to retrieve my deleted photos...... I was soooo happy!

This is something that might happen to even the most careful ones. The moral of my story is: Make sure you have a data-recovery software available as a backup. It will do wonders, and even if only used once, it will be your favorite software to work with.

Comments (15)

Posted by Dan1 on March 17, 2010
A little different twist. I deleated one from another stock site - resubmitted - but it was only acceoted for the free section.
Never work with your photos when you're over tired!
Posted by Chefron on March 17, 2010
It happened to me once...
Thanks to Google and some other photographers that shared their same experience and I could find a recover software to help me with that.
That was a bad time... I almost got crazy.
Fortunately, everything turned out just fine.
Posted by Mariaam on March 17, 2010
That must have been a big shock! ... Good to know! Thanks for sharing this with us!
Posted by Creativei on March 17, 2010
touch-wood i haven't done that yet, but i have some recovery software which i have been using since few years now, so technology helps us every time. great blog so people can remember.
Posted by Jonvitalija on March 17, 2010
Thanks for let us know
Posted by Mcrobin on March 17, 2010
Some years ago I erased a third of my photos of an architectural trip to Berlin. I wasn't paying attention and clicked the delete button, instead of the copy button. I couldn't retrieve the pictures. Worst day ever, best lesson ever... ;)
Posted by Ferreira669 on March 17, 2010
I've bem there too, i get so frustrated, then i remembered that with my card came a CD width a recover software, installed and it did the trick very well....
Posted by Justmeyo on March 16, 2010
I did deleted them by mistake too but i did recovery them all also:)
Posted by Maczuga on March 16, 2010
Great to know!
Posted by Mani33 on March 16, 2010
Hello Paul! Thanks for the advise & reminding us! Once I had a blog about the same subject & here is the link for who wants to try the software I've mentioned! Very good actually!

Cheers :)
Posted by Katn1999 on March 16, 2010
Good to know! I am sometimes absent minded when it comes to uploading my photos, and I have come close to deleting my card without uploading but never actually did it. Now I know I have a back up option if I do it.

Thanks for sharing! And the best part is that your model will never even know what happened. :-)
Posted by Katn1999 on March 16, 2010
Good to know! I am sometimes absent minded when it comes to uploading my photos, and I have come close to deleting my card without uploading but never actually did it. Now I know I have a back up option if I do it.

Thanks for sharing! And the best part is that your model will never even know what happened. :-)
Posted by Katn1999 on March 16, 2010
Good to know! I am sometimes absent minded when it comes to uploading my photos, and I have come close to deleting my card without uploading but never actually did it. Now I know I have a back up option if I do it.

Thanks for sharing! And the best part is that your model will never even know what happened. :-)
Posted by Katn1999 on March 16, 2010
Good to know! I am sometimes absent minded when it comes to uploading my photos, and I have come close to deleting my card without uploading but never actually did it. Now I know I have a back up option if I do it.

Thanks for sharing! And the best part is that your model will never even know what happened. :-)
Posted by Littledesire on March 16, 2010
I haven't deleted any of my photos by mistake, but once I found out that I have that recovery option on my camera. Even no software needed. Useful blog, thanks for sharing!



Comments (15)

This article has been read 2153 times. 5 readers have found this article useful.
Photo credits: Roger Jegg, Kheng Guan Toh.

About me

Paul's extensive portfolio is created while helping models who are starting in the business. His work is mainly focused on lifestyle and headshots trying to capture the beauty of individuals and their unique expressions. Equipment: • Canon EOS 40D • Canon EOS Rebel XT • Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM • Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM • Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM • 2 Profoto ComPact 600R • Canon 580EX II Flash • Sigma EF-500 DG Super Flash • PocketWizard II (multiple) • Sekonic L-758DR DigitalMaster Flash Meter • 2 Umbrellas • ... [Read more]

(Phakimata)
Alpharetta, US

Blogs
Archive
2011
August (1)
July (1)
June (1)
May (2)
April (1)
February (2)
2010
2009
2008
2007

Stock Photography that BLOGS!

Interact, make friends, share tips and techniques, have fun. Dreamstime wants your ideas and thoughts whether you are a photographer, designer or regular user. Create a blog to tell your story, promote favorite images and photographers, post tutorials or simply exchange opinions with your with fellow dreamstimers.

Don't forget words and pictures go great together so make sure you choose some Dreamstime favorite pics to brighten your article. For inspiration, check out the hottest or the most useful blogs on the left.

Create a blog to tell your story, promote favorite stock images and photographers

Create your blog

My favorite articles

    None

More favorite articles

Related image searches

data recovery photo lost mistake

Lost related stock images